As with many beers, SALT include barley and oats in the grains used to create Calico, both of which contain gluten.
According to coeliac.org.uk “Only foods that contain 20 parts per million (ppm) or less can be labelled as 'gluten free'.”
To achieve this SALT use a super-useful enzyme called Brewer’s Clarex which breaks down the proteins in the grain and brings down the gluten content of the beer, making it safe for those with gluten intolerances to enjoy.
Every batch of Calico is then tested by an external body to ensure that the beer is under the 20 ppm threshold, so you can be sure that you’re getting a consistent level of gluten with every sip.
The result of this process is a smooth, easy drinking pale ale which can be appreciated by those with gluten intolerances, as well as those without.
Founded in 2018, the vision for SALT was 3 years in the planning. SALT aimed to create a modern, accessible brand, embedded in the local community of the UNESCO World Heritage Village of Saltaire. SALT strive to produce exceptional hop-forward beer and couple this with a valuable brand experience.
- Extra Pale, Wheat
- Cascade, Centennial, Citra, El Dorado
- Yes (Can )
The above details have been prepared to help you select suitable products. Products and their ingredients are liable to change. You should always read the label before consuming or using the product and never rely solely on the information presented here. If you require specific advice on any product, please contact our Customer Careline on 0113 513 0210. Arrow Fresh is therefore unable to accept liability for any incorrect information. You should also note that the picture / images show only our serving suggestions of how to serve or prepare your food – all accessories and additional items and/or ingredients pictured with the product you are purchasing are not included. This information is supplied for your personal use only.